Open Pairs Sectional Play Concludes

by admin on January 3, 2018

That’s a wrap for Day 2 of the Bowls Tasmania Gala Week with the men’s and women’s open pairs sectional play concluding at all four venues today.  Both events are now out to the round of 16 which will continue on Sunday at North Launceston Bowls Club. 
In the first round of 16 matchup we will see a repeat from their sectional match when brothers Anthony and Cody Clifford from Glenorchy Rodman take on the East Launceston brothers Will and Sam Springer.  The Clifford duo were the winners of this section and also won their early match between the two pairs by 2 shots, however the Springers have managed to scrap through to post sectionals in the final next best qualifier position on offer with two wins plus 12.
Next up we see Danny Neal and Peter Jenkins set to take on next best qualifiers Warren Groves and Peter Thow.  Neal and Jenkins progressed through a very tough section that included current state representatives Robert McMullen and Taelyn Male. 
Tasmanian Junior representatives Josh Walker-Davis and Patrick Oldham progressed through their section on a count back by 4 shots and will now play Darren Monks who has made the most of his late call up with Nick Suttie.  Coastal teammates Chris Dudman and Phil Mundy won their section on a count back by a mere 1 shot and will take on the best of the Next Best qualifiers Drew Berwick and Peter Barrett.  Berwick and Barrett came away with two wins and a draw and have progressed with better results than many section winners.
Geoff Buchanan and John Seaton also managed to win their section on a count back over Invermay’s Mark Illingworth and Barry Hunt by just 4 shots.  Luck of the draw will now see them play each other again in the quarter finals.  Illingworth and Hunt were the victors in their head to head encounter in the section so this promises to be a good game. 
Latrobe’s Graham Hay and Philip Moore came through the day unscathed in section 1 and will now take on father/son duo Luke and Ricky Richardson also undefeated for the day.  Brothers Tim and David Douce also made it an unbeaten day and have now set up a clash with East Launceston’s Aaron Page and Peter Zoon. 
In our final men’s knockout matchup Lee Schraner and Josh Appleyard who had two wins and a draw today will now play the boys from Dover Jarrah Allan and Bradley Carver who progressed through a tough section that included the defending champions.
Maureen Zoon and Annie Lewis have carried through their good form from the fours and won through their section today undefeated to take on fellow East Launceston club mate Marjorie McFarlane and Ulverstone’s Kerry Bebbington.  State teammates Lyn Triffitt and Amelia Bruggy combined well to come through the day with three wins and will now play the best of the next best qualifiers Judy Hope and Gail Thow.
Rose’Anne Howard-Smith and Australian Fours Bronze Medallist Shiron Beavis won through their section on a count back and will now take on Howrah’s Lyn Page Sally Ridgeway.  While in the next quarter final match will be between Sophie Fletcher and Dennis Middap against June Guy and Janet Rutherford.
Mary Beaumont and Judy Reeve showed they’re still in good form after recently winning the Australian Fours Bronze Medal and will now battle it out with Sandy Bay sisters Yvonne and Perri Buckley.  While Sonia Martyn and Deb Lee are working to do better than their quarter final finish last year and will now play Judy Gurr and Madge Strochnetter in the round of 16.
Kingborough teammates Carmel Rainbird and Vicki Bannister and showing good form winning through a section that included former and current state players and will now take on Jean Claridge and Bronny King who was also in their section today. 
Defending champions Dee Harman and Alison Venn showed their red hot form that recently won them the Australian Pairs bronze medal and won all three games today, they will now take on 2017 Tasmanian Bowler of the Year Vicki Winley and Nicole Smith.