Open Squads Announced

by admin on April 26, 2016

Bowls Tasmania is proud to announce the open representative squads for 2016.  
Our Bowls Tasmania open representative players will have a busy schedule playing 19 test matches this year including 5 at home against Victoria (Dec 4-6), 5 away against the ACT (Jan 29-31), 2 against QLD in a lead up to the Australian sides championship (April 5) and 7 during the sides which will be held in Adelaide (April 6-9, 2017).
The Board of Bowls Tasmania along with our selection panels are excited by the level of commitment from our states top players.  Over the past couple of years we have had former state players returning to representative bowls and this year again sees an influx of former players again making themselves available for selection after being unavailable because of personal, work or injury related issue.  Board Director Chris Lee said “This is the deepest talent pool we have had in our squads for many years and I don’t envy the task of the selectors when they have to choose the final 12 for any of our test matches.  We believe we now have a great mix of experience, genuine talents and an eye on the future that will see Tasmanian bowls continue to improve on the national front”.
Our men, after an amazing run at this years National titles can only look for a better performance next year as we welcome back 300 gamer Mark Strochnetter after a successful season playing the Melbourne premier league with Essendon and experienced Chris Dudman having recovered from serious injury. North Launceston’s Andrew Whitmore returns to the squad, following a strong 2015/16 Veolia State Wide Challenge  and a great run in the 2016 state championships. Also added to the 18 man squad that didn’t appear in Canberra for the 2016 Aust sides are northern young guns Lachlan Sims and Brodie Baker, North Wests David Gamble and Taelyn Male from the south.
Our ladies standing continues to grow and develop and now also has some genuine depth to add to our side that went to the ACT. Selectors welcome back 2015 representative Bree Mabb after a years break, Candice Hodgetts following a couple of years living and playing in Melbourne, Rae Simpson  following a very strong 2015-16 season at both Veolia State Wide Challenge and club level at Trevellyn and Jessica McMullen who also had outstanding SWC form and a very strong state championship along with bowls south pairs championship in 2016. Karen Redman also retains her position in the squad along with Mikalya Fuller (2016 state pairs winner) and we welcome squad debutant Jean Claridge to the squad after an amazing 2015-16 State Wide Challenge campaign representing the North.
BTAS are also thrilled with the talent laden development squads for this season. These players will get the opportunity to practice, undertake the Bowls TAS drills sessions and be part of the main squads development under the eyes of selectors and coaches. These are the players identified by selectors as future state squad members and we look forward to seeing as many of these as possible in the 2016-17 Veolia SWC.



Brodie Baker
Jacob Brown
Chris Dudman
David Gamble
Brad Gibson
Anthony Johns
Taelyn Male
Robert McMullen
Darren Monks
Aaron Page
Lee Schraner
Lachie Sims
Michael Sims
Patrick Smith
Mark Strochnetter
Scott Summers
Mark Nitz
Andrew Whitmore

Matthew Jackson
Connor Munnings
Mitchell Banks
Jeremy Turner
Jake Wyllie
Nick Chilcott




Jean Claridge
Mikayla Fuller
Dee Harman
Courtney Hobbs
Candice Hodgetts
Hollie Keen
Jackie Knight
Debra Lee
Bree Mabb
Jessica McMullen
Karen Redman
Kim Saunders
Erin Sesara
Rae Simpson
Lynn Triffitt
Rebecca Van Asch
Alison Venn
Maureen Zoon

Lauren Banks
Chris Direen
Rose’Anne Howard
Janet Rutherford
Terese Turmine
Amy White
Ebony White
Vicki Winley