Day 1 Results – State Champs

by admin on January 1, 2015

Day 1 saw the Men’s and Women’s Fours kick off the State Open Championships. 

Men’s Fours
The biggest shock of the men’s fours came from section 6, with defending champs Simon Zaparozec, Chris Dudman, Rowan Donohue and Bradley Gibson suffering a first round loss of 8 shots to the team from Dover.  This will also mark the first year in half a decade that Chris Dudman will not feature in the State Fours Finals after winning the last 5 in a row, albeit in different teams.  The Dover team of Chris Norris, Jarrah Allan, Josh Mazur and Bradley Carver were the surprise packet of the fours so far coming through an extremely tough section undefeated with wins over Zaparozec, John Bowerman’s East Launceston rink, and David Minns’ Northern team.
They now progress through to the men’s fours quarter finals on Monday 5th January against pre tournament favourites, Tasmanian representatives Lee Schraner, Robert McMullen, Darren Monks and Peter Bannister.  Schraner’s rink eased through their section undefeated with a whopping margin of 39 to end the day.
In the other quarter final on that half of the knockout draw, it’s all about working as a family with both opponents sticking with family members and being successful in the process.  Tim Douce, Greg Douce, David Douce and Hector Douce will now take on David McLean, Geoff McLean, David Hobbs and Jim Laduke.
David Genford’s rink of young guns, Brodie Baker, Andrew Whitmore and Michael Sims proved too good in their section and will now take on Keghan Booth’s rink.  While Andrew Chamberlain’s rink also secured their position in the quarter finals against the Ulverstone combination skipped by Tristan Bakes.
Women’s Fours
The women’s fours saw the defending champions Rebecca Van Asch, Gaylene Elsworthy and Kim Saunders along with new addition Nicole Smith win through their tough section that included 10 out of 16 State Players to advance to the semi finals.  Van Asch’s rink only narrowly defeated Rae Simpson’s rink by 2 shots in the morning before getting over North Launceston team skipped by Connie Rowbottom.  The last game of the day saw the rematch of last year’s grand final when Van Asch’s crew took on Lyn Triffitt, Yvonne Buckley, Rosie Geeves and Jeanette Lane, with the reining champs again coming away the victors.
They will now take on Sally Redman’s local composite team of Margaret Williams, Rebecca McMaster and Denise Middap who secured their position in the knockout rounds after scoring a 2 on the final end of their last game to secure a draw.  This put them level with Carina Daly’s Sheffield girls on game points, but the Northern team had a 4 shot buffer to claim the section victory with shots up.
Section 1 saw the northern fours runners up Sophie Fletcher, Sheryl Watts, Chris Direen and Satya Springer edged their way into the other semi final with 2 wins and shots up over Theresa Turmine’s composite rink of Leonie Price, Jill Burke and Maureen Zoon.
While their opponents will be the experienced Mary Beaumont captained rink of Judy Reeve, Erin Sesara and Kelly Furley (nee Mundy), with numerous State Titles amongst them including Sesara’s 3 State Fours titles that she won in 5 years.   They came through their section unscathed, winning all three games in emphatic style.
Play continues tomorrow for the 520 entries, as all 4 host clubs (North Lton, Trevallyn, Kings Meadows and West Lton) are required to stage the Men’s and Women’s Pairs. Matches are due to get underway at 9:30am.

The days results are as follows and also the knockout draws are available.

(If the pictures are not showing up clear for you, click on the following links to bring it up in pdf format.)

Men’s Fours Sectional Results.
Men’s Fours Knockout Draw
Women’s Fours Sectional Results
Women’s Fours Knockout Draw