Day 2 Results – State Champs

by admin on January 2, 2015

Men’s Fours
Day 2 of the State Open Championships saw the pairs sectional events commence.  Today wasn’t a good day for defending champions as Peter Zoon and Chris Dudman bowed out of the men’s event with Keghan Booth and Darren Monks winning their section.  They will now take on young guns Michael Sims and Bradley Gibson who scrapped through their section by 6 shots over Tasmanian Junior representatives Josh Appleyard and Julian Brown.
Runners up from last year Chris Roach and Joe Thomas were also unsuccessful in their bid to go one better this year by losing their section to Simon Zaparozec and Rowan Donohue who made amends for their disappointment in the fours yesterday, they will now play the Ben Fidler skipped duo that progressed through their section undefeated today.
The Douce duo of Tim and David continue their success of sectional wins now winning their way through to the pairs post sectionals to add to their fours from yesterday.  Their opponents will be Rod Horton, who is fresh off his Latrobe pairs victory earlier in the week, and Eden Moore from Ulverstone.
The father son combination of Kevan and Mike Gaffney claimed section 6 with straight out wins in all three of their matches and will now collide with local Invermay boys Mark Illingworth and Shane Boden.
Another sibling team, Will and Sam Springer won their section with shots up and will now play the undefeated team of Andrew Roach and Leon Webb in the round of 16.  Lee Schraner continued on his dominant form, winning all his matches again today with partner Cameron Tegg and will now take on the East Launceston pair of John Bowerman and David Heron who was also undefeated.
Our final match up in the men’s round of 16 is between Penguin boys Aaron Page and Wayne Manson and the Southern guys Gene Ayton and Chris Lee.  Both teams securing their section victories on a count back.

Women’s Pairs
Day 2 of the State Open Championships saw the pairs sectional events commence.  It was a day full of surprises though with the defending champions Lyn Triffitt and Jeanette Lane bundling out of the event with 2 straight losses first up.  Instead it was Denise Tanner and Daph Roberts that were the victors in section 3.  The section came down to the wire with the final game set to determine the winner of the section between Tanner and Roberts against Rebecca McMaster and Denise Middap, and it was only a mere 2 shots in the end that separated them in the final match.
They will now take on young guns Hollie Keen and Mikayla Gibson in the quarter finals, who came through their section with two wins and a draw.  After their draw in the last game against Chris Dowl and Leonie Price, it was only a single shot in the points margin column that gave the section victory to Keen and Australian Junior Pairs Silver Medallist Baker.
World Pairs Champion Bec Van Asch and her partner Erin Sesara are still waiting to see who their opponents will be in their quarter final encounter after getting through their section undefeated.  They will either play Van Asch’s fours teammates Nicole Smith and Kim Saunders who didn’t drop a game in their tough section that included last year’s pairs runners up Mary Beaumont and Judy Reeve, or State Skip Rosie Geeves and club mate Lyn McDougall.
Last year’s semi finalists Rae Simpson and Lyn Quarrell came through their section without dropping a game and will now take on the Tasmanian Development Squad players Dee Harman and Alison Venn who came through section 4 as the only team to win 2 matches.  While the remaining quarter final match will be between Tasmanian Representatives Jenny Grandfield and Rose’Anne Howard and section 9 victors Maxine Viney and Cheryl Jarvis.

If you cannot view the results pictures, please view them in pdf by clicking on the links.

Women’s Pairs Sectional Results
Women’s Pairs Knockout Draw
Men’s Pairs Sectional Results
Men’s Pairs Knockout Draw