Australian Champion of Champions ready to roll

by Rob McGuire on April 21, 2022

Following the event’s postponement in 2021, the Australian Champion of Champions will finally crown a winner from last year, as state and territory representatives descend on the magnificent Broadbeach Bowls Club from Saturday.

Neither of the 2020 tournament conquerers in Dawn Hayman and Trystan Smallacombe will bid to defend their titles but in the women’s draw, reigning silver medallist and Right at Home Australian Jackaroo Carla Krizanic will be out to reclaim the trophy she won back in 2016.

The Victorian is the only former champion in the star-studded line-up, that also boasts fellow Jackaroos in Queensland’s Chloe Stewart and Tasmania’s Rebecca Van Asch, both of whom competed in last year’s event in Dandenong.

Stewart will look to improve on her bronze medal showing from 2021, while Van Asch is striving to add yet another title to an already illustrious resume.

Also returning to the competition is Emerging Jackaroo Chloe Morrison from the ACT, who is joined by number five ranked bowler in Australia, Sarah James from the Northern Territory, and Kathy Miller from South Australia.

New South Wales and Western Australia will have no female participants at this event.

In the men’s draw, two-time champion Lee Schraner will look to become the first bowler, male or female, to win the event on three occasions following his triumphs in 2017 and 2018.

Joining the Victorian in the tournament is Jackaroo Cody Packer, who looks to become the first male from Western Australia to win the event since Jeff Hall in 2004.

Emerging Jackaroo and 2021 Under-18 Male Bowler of the Year Jake Rynne will fly the Queensland flag, striving to emulate Brett Wilkie as the last man from the state to win the coveted championship since 2011.

Former Male Bowler of the Year Peter Taylor will represent New South Wales, while Northern Territory’s Mark Malogorski will try and make it back-to-back titles for the state following Smallacombe’s triumph last year.

Rounding out the competitors are Will McPharlin from South Australia and Tim Douce from Tasmania.

The 2021 Australian Champion of Champions will be held on April 23-24, 2022, at Broadbeach Bowls Club. Follow Rinkside Live on Bowls Australia’s Facebook Page.

• Visit the 2021 Australian Champion of Champions event page.