by Rob McGuire on March 18, 2022

Rob McMullen and Lyn Triffitt took out the coveted men’s and women’s open state singles championships in Bowls Tasmania’s Gala Week of lawn bowls which finished today at Rosny Park.

In the men’s open singles championship, Kings Meadow’s Rob McMullen had a great tussle with Howrah’s Peter Jenkins.   Jenkins trailed 15-17 after 23 tense ends before McMullen stormed home scoring eight shots on the next three ends to win 25-15.  Brighton’s Lyn Triffitt raced out to an eight-shot lead after 11 ends against Ulverstone’s Alison Venn in the women’s open championship, but Venn fought back to level the scores at 19 all after 25 ends.   Triffitt steadied and kept Venn to just one more scoring end to win 25-20.

In a heart stopping final in the men’s B Grade championship, Howrah’s Matthew Gregg defeated Brighton’s David Williams by one shot.   East Launceston’s Heather Thompson followed up her win in the women’s B Grade pairs on Wednesday to take out the women’s B Grade singles championship defeating Invermay’s Zoe Whelan 25-18.

Grand finals in the pair’s championships were played this morning.   In the men’s open championship, Penguin’s Jarryd Brown and Brighton’s Grant Wakefield trailed Kings Meadow’s Josh Appleyard and Longford’s Josh Walker-Davis by ten shots after ten ends but won seven of the last eight ends to storm home winning a great battle by four shots.   In the women’s open pairs championship, Invermay’s Deb Lee and Kim Saunders raced out to a commanding 19 shot lead after eleven ends against New Norfolk’s Lauren Banks and Glenorchy Rodman’s Jorja Maughan and held on to win the title 21-11.

In the  men’s B Grade pairs championship, Taroona’s Duncan Carey and Franklin’s Brad Johns player some outstanding bowls to easily defeat New Norfolk’s Chris Smith and Tom Fowler 34-6.      East Launceston’s Heather Thompson and Janet McCarthy won the Women’s B Grade Pairs championship grand final on Tuesday when they convincingly defeated Penguin’s Pam Lade and Claremont’s Halina Travers 23-4.

Disability bowlers took to the greens in four championship grand finals.   Ulverstone’s Alan Ryman defeated Swansea’s James Amos 25-15 in the men’s physical disability singles grand-final.   Kings Meadows Daniel Smith beat Cosgrove Park’s Wayne Wright 21-6 in the men’s intellectual disability singles grand final and Cosgrove Park’s Shaz Hyland finished strongly to defeat Huonville’s Marijke Raine 21-16 in the women’s disability singles grand-final.   In a game that was not decided until the final bowl was put down, Cressy’s Debbie Maher and Ulverstone’s Alan Ryman took out the disability pairs championship defeating Port Sorell’s Damien Parker and Turners Beach’s Jamie Costello 16-15 in the grand-final.

The bowling arm triples championships was won by Wynyard’s Heather Jones, George Town’s Doreen White and Michael Shingles who defeated North Hobart’s Ebro Jesenkovic, Kingborough’s Geoff Price and Penguin’s Peter Thow 18-15.   The bowling arm fours championship was run as a round robin competition with Wynyard’s Heather Jones, Ridgley’s Colin Shipton, George Town’s Doreen White and Michael Shingles taking out the title from St Helen’s Ian Williams and Trevallyn’s Ray Dureaux, Joe Reissig and Geoff Buchannan.

For all the results click HERE.