Open Fours Sectional Play Results

by admin on January 2, 2018

Day 1 of the Bowls Tasmania Gala Week kicked off today at the Trevallyn and Invermay Bowls Clubs with the sectional play of the Women’s and Men’s Open Fours.
Trevallyn played hosts to our women’s event which saw many of the favourites progress through to the post sectional competition.  Rae Simpson made the most of playing at her home club teamed with Scottsdale’s Jean Claridge and Sandy Bay sisters Yvonne and Perri Buckley.  Together the foursome dominated their section to go through the day undefeated and huge margin of plus 39.  Simpson and her team have set up a tantalising quarter final against three time state fours champions Rebecca Van Asch, Gaylene Elsworthy, Deb Lee and Kim Saunders who also progressed through the day undefeated.
The second quarter final will see the all East Launceston outfit of Maureen Zoon, Karen Stewart, Heather Thompson and Annie Lewis take on next best qualifier Jenny Tirant with her rink of juniors Jorja Maughan, Lauren Banks and Logyn Curtis. 
Maxine Monson, Marge Strochnetter, Judy Gurr and Sophie Fletcher came out firing after having the bye first thing this morning to win their two games of the day and will now play the best of the next best qualifiers Maxine Viney, Maggie Campbell, Helen Renshaw and Sheril Watts all of Kings Meadows.
Erin Sesara who skipped last years winning state fours team stepped out with a new side today playing with coastal teammates Dee Harman, Alison Venn and Janenne Thompson and will now take on the last next best qualifiers Sonia Martyn, Mary Beaumont, Judy Reeve and Nadine Seabourne.
The men’s event took to the greens at Invermay with some tight tussles the order of the day.
North Launceston’s David Minns, Ray Boutcher, Myles Baker and Wayne Ogden were the first section winner of the day dominating their section to progress undefeated with a margin of plus 26.  They will now take on the star studded line-up of Lee Schraner, Michael Sims, Robert McMullen and Josh Appleyard who found the going a little tougher today with three close encounters.
Keghan Booth, Josh Walker-Davis, Isaac Maughan and Michael Taylor defeated the defending champions to progress through their section with two wins and will now take on second next best qualifiers Josh Baker, Lachie Sims, Daniel Baker and Matthew Jackson in the second quarter final.
Brothers Tim, Greg and David Douce who have won this event multiple times have teamed up again with North Launceston’s Andrew Whitmore and comfortably progressed through their section.  They will now take on the best of the next best qualifiers Peter Bannister, Steve Graf, David Heron and David Quarrell who went on guns blazing into the last round with the hopes of securing one of the top 8 spots winning 41-1 to keep their hopes alive.
Brodie Baker had all eyes on him when he delivered his last bowl needing this shot to win his section he didn’t disappoint taking out the win and the section alongside Chris Roach, Alan Gamble and Fred Mckay.
They will now take on the third next best qualifier who narrowly progressed by a mere 1 shot, John Bowerman, Adam Gurr, Peter Zoon and Kane Stewart.
The fours will continue at North Launceston on Saturday morning from 9.30am, while the Satellite Series will be played at Invermay that day for anyone that would like a social game with good cash prizes.  Tomorrow will see the men’s and women’s pairs take centre stage.