Women’s Fours Preview

by admin on January 1, 2018

The Tasmanian Open Women’s Fours Championships kick off tomorrow at Trevallyn Bowls Club from 9.30am with food and refreshments available throughout the day for purchase.
In section one we see the all Kings Meadows line up of Maxine Viney, Maggie Campbell, Helen Renshaw and Sheril Watts take on the Invermay combination of Nicole Smith, Candice Hodgetts, Chris Direen and Vicki Winley in game one.  Also in the first round of the round robin sectional competition Connie Rowbottom, Marlene Bushby, Coralie Parsons and Jeanette Elmore join forces against defending Singles Champion Rae Simpson, Sandy Bay sisters Perri and Yvonne Buckley along with Scottsdale’s Jean Claridge.
Section two has a lot of experience on offer with former state representatives Sonia Martyn, Mary Beaumont and Judy Reeve teaming up together with Martyn’s daughter, Nadine Seabourne, who has just recently taken up the game.  In what promises to be tantalising matchup with current state players Lyn Triffitt and Amelia Bruggy along with current state senior representatives Jeanette Lane and Leonie Price.  State lead Maureen Zoon is stepping up to skip with fellow East Launceston clubmates Karen Stewart, Heather Thompson and Annie Lewis.  And rounding out the section is the strong Sandy Bay team of Lynn Barlow, Laura Best, Ann Hinkley and Jackie Phillips.
The first team in section three are the ever tough girls from Howrah Denise Tanner, Charon Foster, Lyn Page and Sally Ridgeway.  They will square off against Rebecca Van Asch, playing in her only discipline of the event, Gaylene Elsworthy, Deb Lee and Kim Saunders who have re-joined forces.  Local North Launceston teammates Barbara Smith and Sue Ross have teamed up again after recently finishing runners up in the Northern Triples and are partnered with Judy Hope and Gail Thow from Sheffield and Ulverstone respectively.  And our final team for this section is Bowls South skip Jenny Tirant who has teamed with the junior team of Jorja Maughan, Logyn Curtis and Lauren Banks.
Section four kicks off with the Dover combination of Carol Bannister, Meg Wilson, Sheryl Phillips and Barb Liddington taking on fellow southerners Carmel Rainbird, Vicki Bannister, Karlene Beadle and Sue Mann all from Kingborough.  While the composite North West combination of Rose’Anne Howard, Shiron Beavis who was a member of last years winning fours team, State senior representative Helen Sturzaker and Kelly Furley take on fellow North Westerners Erin Sesara who skipped last year winning fours team, Australian Pairs bronze medallists Dee Harman and Alison Venn, joined by Janenne Thompson up front.
And in our final section 5, State Senior skip June Guy is playing with fellow Buckingham teammates Janette Rutherford, Kathryn Atkinson and Miriam Garrett.  Their opponents in their first round clash will be the “two blues” girls from Penguin Karen Redman, Maxine Eaton, Annette Yaxley, and Bronny King.  While the local experienced composite team of Maxine Monson, Bev Huett, Madge Strochnetter and Sophie Fletcher will enjoy the first round bye.
A full report of the days play will be on our website at the end of the days play.