Women’s Championships – Preview

by admin on December 31, 2014

Tomorrow sees the women’s fours kick off the championships with some star studded teams taking to the field.  Section 2 stands out as the toughest section of all with 10 of the 16 players being past or present State players within the last 13 months and both last year’s Winners and Runners Up in it, it wouldn’t be a surprise for the eventual title winners to come out of this section.  Team A comprises the defending champs Bec Van Asch, Gaylene Elsworthy taking her place back after being subbed out in last year’s final for medical reasons, Nicole Smith stepping in to take the absent Jenny Redshaw’s place and Kim Saunders resuming her place in the team.  While Team D are the defending champs Lyn Triffitt, Yvonne Buckley, Rosie Geeves and Jeanette Lane, with all four players representing Tasmania in the past two intrastate test series at the end of 2014.  While the two remaining teams comprise of the ever consistent Rae Simpson and Lyn Quarrell, Junior Champion Holly Keen and local Gail Linger, and the North Launceston Team skipped by Connie Rowbottom. 
Section 1 sees the Northern Fours Runners up skipped by Sophie Fletcher taking on the Southern team skipped by Perri Buckley and Northern teams skipped by Karin Wells and Maggie Campbell.  Section 3 sees the experience of Mary Beaumont and Judy Reeve combining with the young guns Erin Sesara and Kelly Furley making somewhat of a comeback to the state championships.  They take on Bree Mabb’s four, along with Jenny Grandfield and Sonia Martyn’s teams.  In section 4; game 1 looks to be a thriller with the ever successful  Sheffield girls Carina Daly, Judy Hope, Kath Wootton and Kaye Sherriff taking on the strong southern team lead by current State player Deb Lee backed up by former State players Robyn Leggett, Chris Dowl and Carol Bannister.  That section is also rounded out with Jean Holland and Marleen van den Bosch’s teams.
On Day 2 of the Championships the women’s pairs kick off with defending champions Lyn Triffitt and Jeanette Lane going out as hot favourites again in section 3.  Other pairs combinations expected to be challengers in this event would have to be last year’s runners up Judy Reeve and Mary Beaumont who have also been previous winners of this event, however they face touch opposition in Section 5 against Gail Thow and Judy hope, also both previous State Pairs Champions as well as Kim Saunders who teams up with Nicole Smith this year.  Last year’s semi finalists Rae Simpson and Lyn Quarrell will also be hard competitions along with Bec Van Asch and Erin Sesara who reunite after a couple of years absence together and last year’s quarter finalists Bree Mabb and Maureen Zoon.  But with so many other strong pairs combinations in the mix any of those teams could be there on the final day
Day 3 will see the Blue Ribbon Singles event kick into action.  The bottom half of the women’s singles draw is looking jam packed and looks like the eventual winner could come from that part of the draw.  Defending Champion Rebecca Van Asch is looking for a record equalling 5th State Singles Title this year, however she has never won her tiles back to back and first up faces a tough opposition against State Selector Leonie Price.  Last year’s runner up Rae Simpson opens her campaign against current state squad member Jess McMullen, while Jess’ mum state player Deb Lee faces fellow Tasmanian team mate Maureen Zoon.  Former Tassie Squad members Lyn Quarrell and Bree Mabb also face each other in the opening round with the winner running into current State third Lyn Trifftt in the second round.  While the top half of the draw looks touch with Australian Indoor Singles Semi finalist Carol Bannister taking on Tasmanian Over 60’s representative Sophie Fletcher in round 1 and Tasmanian Open team mates Gail Thow and Yvonne Buckley face one another.