Bowls Tasmania’s 2024 Women’s Bowler of the Year Announced

by Rob McGuire on May 11, 2024

Bowls Tasmania is pleased to announce that Rae Simpson (pictured) from the Port Sorell Bowls Club is the Bowls Tasmania 2024 Women’s Bowler of the Year.

 All Bowls Tasmania Open Championships, Singles, Pairs, Triples and Fours, along with all open regional events of the same disciplines together with the Bowls Tasmania Open Mixed Pairs gain points towards Bowler of the Year standings.

In a sensational year on the greens, Rae Simpson won the Tasmanian Open Singles and Pairs events and was runner-up in the Tasmanian Open Triples event during the year.   Simpson also won the Bowls North West Open Singles event to race away to an easy win in the Bowler of the Year Award.     It is the third time in four years that Simpson has won the award including sharing honours with Invermay’s Kim Saunders in 2021.

Congratulations Rae.

Final Standings:

114 – Rae Simpson (Port Sorell)

73 – Jess McMullen (Invermay)

70 – Kim Saunders (Invermay)

68 – Amity Bickley (Port Sorell)

56 – Ali Venn (Ulverstone)

54 – Jean Claridge (Invermay)