by Rob McGuire on November 1, 2023


The sport’s National Selection Panel has confirmed the Right at Home Australian Jackaroos squads for 2024 as the high performance program enters a new era, bolstered by new talent to replace some familiar faces.

The panel, which comprises of selectors Therese HastingsDave Stockham, Assistant National Coach Karen Murphy AM, National Coach Gary Willis and Chair Steve Glasson OAM, have replenished the main squad following a number of recent international retirements to key Jackaroos, while rewarding scintillating form across the feeder teams.

The open squad has seen four changes made, with the men’s team seeing Queensland’s Nick Cahill rewarded for his string of solid performances in place of the retiring Barrie Lester.

In-form South Australian in Nathan Black will also make his way into the team to replace Jesse Noronha, ending the year-long representational absence from his state.

The women’s outfit has been bolstered by 2023 Australian Open women’s singles champion in Cassandra Millerick, who comes in for the retiring Lynsey Clarke.

New South Wales’ Brianna Smith has also been elevated into the open squad following consistently strong performances on the national and international stage, coming in for Bolivia Millerick.

The Emerging squad has seen the Victorian pair of Samantha Atkinson and Sophie Kurzman move into the line-up, with the former rewarded for a magnificent year after claiming both the 2023 Australian Indoor Championships in August and contributing the Big V’s Marj Morris Trophy triumph at the recent Nationals.

Meanwhile, Western Australia’s Jack East, Queensland’s Chris Rosanes and New South Wales’ Kyle Hansen have all been elevated from the Pathways squad for the first time, joining Kane Nelson who makes his way back up into the Emerging outfit; which serves as the Jackaroos’ primary feeder squad.

The Pathways squad will be smaller in 2024, running with 19 players instead of the 26 of this year.

Queensland youngster Stella Palmer received the call up following her sensational run of form across the under-18 disciplines, while the Tasmanian pair of Bailey Bellchambers and Codi Marshall were also elevated into the program.

Queensland’s Dale McWhinney Shillington, ACT’s Harvey McAlister and New South Wales’ Jack Lewis were all tapped on the shoulder for a main occasion.

The Para squad sees one new face come into the team, with Victoria’s Alison East making her way in, with no inclusions into the vision-impaired line-up.

There will be no Pathways Para team in 2024, with each member from this year’s class moving into the Emerging outfit for next year.

Victoria’s Lucas Protopapas and Western Australia’s Jodie Nikolic have progressed, while New South Wales Michael Vassallo was rewarded for some exceptional performances on the national stage with a maiden selection.

Following one of the most prosperous years in the Jackaroos’ history, with five gold medals at the World Bowls Championships, Willis said he was optimistic about the 2024 squads’ potential to be even greater in the future.

“We are extremely excited by the 2024 Right at Home Australian Jackaroos squad and the bolstered contingents, which reinforces the outstanding depth of talent to choose from within the country,” Willis said.

“I must commend the National Selection Panel who have been extremely thorough in their efforts to ensure both short and long term success for the national team, with a vision to the future through our pathways program.

“The program has certainly grown and developed over the past 12 months, and the Jackaroos have enjoyed a purple patch, with a record-breaking performance at the World Bowls Championships among the highlights.

“The team embarks on a new era in 2024, with an absence of players that have been stalwarts of the national squad for the better part of two decades, flying the flag for what it means to be a Jackaroo.

“I would like to personally acknowledge the outstanding contribution of each of the players who have recently retired following the World Bowls Championships and emphasise that Lynsey, Barrie and Jesse have left an extremely positive and long-lasting legacy with the Jackaroos; they are magnificent people and ambassadors for our country and the sport.

“I would also like to acknowledge the work of our pathways coaches and the pathways program with many of their players transitioning and being promoted into emerging and open squads.”

 2024 Right at Home Jackaroos 
Kelsey CottrellHelensvaleQLD
Dawn HaymanSt Johns ParkNSW
Kristina KrsticManning MemorialWA
Cassandra MillerickMoamaVIC
Ellen RyanCabramattaNSW
Brianna SmithSt Johns ParkNSW
Chloe StewartClub TweedQLD
Natasha Van EldikRaymond TerraceNSW
Kylie WhiteheadWodongaVIC
Jamie-Lee WorsnopCabramattaNSW
Nathan BlackHoldfast BaySA
Nick CahillBroadbeachQLD
Carl HealeyCabramattaNSW
Matthew LucasHelensvaleQLD
Cody PackerManningWA
Aron SherriffBroadbeachQLD
Aaron TeysWarillaNSW
Ben TwistSt Johns ParkNSW
Corey WedlockWarillaNSW
Aaron WilsonCabramattaNSW
2024 Right at Home Emerging Jackaroos
Kate Argent-BowdenHoldfast BaySA
Samantha AtkinsonRichmond UnionVIC
Kira BourkeClub TweedQLD
Jessie CottellCabramattaNSW
Sophie KurzmanSunburyVIC
Kate MatthewsRaymond TerraceNSW
Chloe MorrisonVikingsACT
Jack EastOsborne ParkWA
Kyle HansenTaren PointNSW
Cohen LitfinAlgesterQLD
Kane NelsonBelmont ServicesQLD
Beau PrideauxCabramattaNSW
Chris RosanesPine RiversQLD
2024 Right at Home Pathways Jackaroos
Lauren BanksNew NorfolkTAS
Amity BickleyPort SorellTAS
Reese Finn-YoungMerimbulaNSW
Ruby LeggettOsborne ParkWA
Grace MoloneyArthurtonSA
Stella PalmerRomaQLD
Bailey BellchambersUlverstoneTAS
Joseph ClarkePark BeachNSW
Tyson CromieYarrawongaVIC
Cody GerickBelmont ServicesQLD
Cameron KeenanMoamaVIC
Jack LewisEngadineNSW
Codi MarshallPort SorellTAS
Jack McShaneMerrylandsNSW
Dale McWhinney ShillingtonBurleigh HeadsQLD
Harvey McAlisterQueanbeyanACT
Flynn O’ShaughnessyCanberraACT
Segan PasalichOsborne ParkWA
Michael PhillipsMerrylandsNSW
Jayden ZellerHoldfast BaySA
2024 Right at Home Para Jackaroos
Serena BonnellClub TweedQLD
Alison EastGrangeburnVIC
Louise HoskinsSouth JohnstoneQLD
Cheryl LindfieldMt GravattQLD
Josh BarryClaytonVIC
Tony BonnellBrightonQLD
Damien DelgadoClub TweedQLD
Chris FlavelLockleysSA
James ReynoldsCanberraACT
Brett SellarsSolander LakeQLD
2024 Right at Home Vision Impaired Jackaroos
Helen BoardmanEnoggeraQLD
Jake FehlbergBargaraQLD
Jacqueline HudsonFingal BayNSW
Calvin RodgersHarveyWA
2024 Right at Home Vision Impaired Jackaroo Directors
Peter DohertyEnoggeraQLD
Cody FehlbergBargaraQLD
Robert HudsonFingal BayNSW
Jason ScheutjensHarveyWA
2024 Right at Home Emerging Para Jackaroos
Jodie NikolicYanchepWA
Lucas ProtopapasHeathmonthVIC
Michael VassalloCabramattaNSW
Cooper WhitestylesSouth Suburban MackayQLD

Australian Jackaroos Right At Home Jackaroos