Bright start to Tasmanian Lawn Bowls Seniors Championships

by Rob McGuire on February 13, 2023

Over 150 bowlers took to the greens at Beltana, Rosny Park and Howrah today  to compete in sectional play rounds of the Men’s, Women’s and Bowling Arm Pairs sections of the Bowls Tasmania’s State Senior (Over 60’s) Bowls Championships.

Sectional play winners in the Men’s Pairs were Chris Norris and Roger Dale, Tony Verrier and Gavin Cleary, Phil Ions and Geoff Jones, Ralph Tieman and Geoff Doyle, Peter Jenkins and Danny Neal and Mick Coppleman and Ross Bannister who all remained undefeated.    Other sections were much closer with winners being Wayne Manson and Peter French, Tony Vince and Grant Allford, Peter Gangell and Mike Casey, Wayne Willcox and Trevor Docking, Keith Miller and Greg Sandford and Shane Gurr and John Nichols.

In the Women’s Pairs, sectional play winners were Jill Silvey and Mary Beaumont, Barb Smith and Madge Strochnetter, Ailsa Milburn and Chris McGrath, Jeanette Lane and Maxine Monson, Rosie Geeves and Anne Mullavey and Kim Saunders and Denise Middap who all remained undefeated.   In the closest section of the day, Sandy Scott and Patricia Blood won two games and were held to a draw by Diane Cleary and Noelene Fehlberg but it was enough to scrape through to the finals.

Trevallyn’s Geoff Buchanan and Joe Reissig and Latrobe’s Kevan and Alice Gaffney were undefeated through the sectional play section of the Bowling Arm Pairs championships and will meet in the grand final at Beltana on Wednesday morning.

The Seniors Championships continue on Tuesday at Beltana with post-sectional play in the Men’s Pairs and finals in the Men’s and Women’s Fours and the Bowling Arm Fours.   The grand final of the Bowling Arm Fours will be played at 9.30am, the Women’s Fours will be played at 12.30pm and the Men’s Fours at 3.00pm.

Bowls Tasmania will be live streaming the Bowling Arm and Men’s grand finals on its Facebook page.

For more information, the draw and all the results click HERE.