Simpson and Walker Davis announced as Bowls Tasmania’s 2022 Bowlers of the Year

by Rob McGuire on May 15, 2022

Bowls Tasmania is pleased to announce that Rae Simpson from the Kings Meadows Bowls Club and Josh Walker-Davis from the Longford Bowls Club are the winners of the 2022 Women’s and Men’s Bowler of the Year Awards. For Rae Simpson, it is two wins in a row after sharing the honours with Invermay’s Kim Saunders last year.

 All Bowls Tasmania Open Championships, Singles, Pairs, Triples and Fours, along with all open regional events of the same disciplines together with the Bowls Tasmania Open Mixed Pairs gain points towards the Bowler of the Year standings.

Rae Simpson and Josh Walker-Davis teamed up for the first Bowls Tasmania championship of the year – the Mixed Pairs which they won – pictured after receiving their medallions – and never looked back.

Rae Simpson took maximum points in the Tasmanian Open Fours, she was runner-up in the Tasmanian Open Triples and picked up points in the Tasmanian Open Pairs. She also was runner up in the Bowls North Singles and Fours and was well ahead of Brighton’s Lyn Triffitt who finished in second place.

Josh-Walker-Davis was a runner-up in the Tasmanian Open Pairs and had minor finishes in the Tasmanian Triples and Singles. He also won the Bowls North Fours to finish ahead of Kings Meadow’s Rob McMullen.

Congratulations Rae and Josh.

Final Standings (Women):

107 – Rae Simpson (Kings Meadows)

89 – Lyn Triffitt (Brighton)

87 – Jess McMullen (Invermay)

56 – Debra Lee (Invermay)

55 – Lauren Banks (New Norfolk)

Final Standings (Men):

93 – Josh Walker-Davis (Longford)

62 – Rob McMullen (Kings Meadows)

58 – Jack Ellis (Glenorchy Rodman)

53 – Isaac Maughan (Glenorchy Rodman)

50 – Michael Sims (Trevallyn)