Bowls Tasmania’s 2021 Women’s Bowlers of the Year Announced

by Rob McGuire on December 10, 2021

Bowls Tasmania is pleased to announce that Kim Saunders (pictured left) from the Invermay Bowls Club and Rae Simpson (pictured right) from the Kings Meadows Bowls Club are the joint winners of the 2021 Women’s Bowler of the Year Award.

 All Bowls Tasmania Open Championships, Singles, Pairs, Triples and Fours, along with all open regional events of the same disciplines together with the Bowls Tasmania Open Mixed Pairs can gain points towards Bowler of the Year standings.

Kim Saunders scored points in all Tasmanian Championship events including runner-up in the Tasmanian Open Mixed Pairs and in the Fours events and took out the Bowls North Pairs and Fours Championships during the past season.

Rae Simpson took maximum points in the Tasmanian Open Singles and finished equal third in the Tasmanian Open Mixed Pairs and won the Bowls North Singles and Triples Championships in 2021-22.

In the end nothing could separate the pair who are worthy joint winners.   Congratulations Kim and Rae.

Final Standings:

96 – Kim Saunders (Invermay) and Rae Simpson (Kings Meadows)

81 – Debra Lee (Invermay)

74 – Jenny Suttie (Rosny Park)

65 – Rebecca Van Asch (Invermay)