History made as BPL#14 teams announced

by Rob McGuire on December 9, 2021


Three new franchises, a plethora of squad changes and a historic selection highlight the lead in to the Bowls Premier League’s 14th edition on the Murray in February.

Among the changes is the return of five-time Commonwealth Games gold medallist and seven-time World Champion, Alex Marshall, who is one of five players to claim multiple MVP honours at the BPL.

Marshall will re-join the Brisbane Pirates, who have made a trio of changes to its squad from BPL13 in April. New Zealand Blackjack, Commonwealth and World Champion Jo Edwards makes her return to the competition in addition to Pine Rivers’ seven-time club champion, Chris Rosanes.https://www.youtube.com/embed/u2S3xTmtEwU?feature=oembed

The Perth Suns will make history in Moama as the first team in BPL history to enter a tournament with two women in its squad, as WA stars Cody Packer and Kristina Krstic make their long awaited return to the tournament to join Dawn Hayman, who retains her place in the team following her impressive efforts in Brisbane earlier this year.

With the Gold Coast Hawks’ return to the BPL, four-time champion and three-time tournament MVP Aron Sherriff will make the switch from the Sydney Lions to accompany former Jackaroo Nathan Rice and Kelsey Cottrell, who jumps across from the Pirates.

With Sherriff departing the Lions, the Sydney franchise welcomes Aaron Wilson to join Karen Murphy and Ben Twist.

BPL13 runners-up Murray Steamers have also made a solitary change, with Kevin Anderson moving from the coaching seat to the green to team up with two-time MVP Ryan Bester and Jackaroo Natasha Van Eldik. The home side will look to join the Tweed Heads Ospreys and Lions with three championships.

Reigning back-to-back champions, the Ospreys, will retain the trio of Aaron TeysCorey Wedlock and Chloe Stewart, as will the Adelaide Pioneers with Katelyn InchWayne Ruediger and two-time MVP Scott Thulborn.https://www.youtube.com/embed/vy-rXUKZem0?feature=oembed

The Melbourne Pulse will also head to the Murray with the same lineup of Barrie LesterGary Kelly and Ellen Ryan, while new franchise Melbourne eXtreme will field Carla KrizanicMatthew Flapper and Ali Forsyth.

Finally, the eXtreme’s fellow debutants, the Tasmania Tridents, have confirmed Rebecca Van AschTaelyn Male and Mark Nitz as its squad for BPL14.

#BPL14 will run from February 21-25, 2022 and will be broadcast on Fox Sports, Kayo and Sky Sports NZ.

See below for the full ins and outs for each BPL franchise:

Adelaide Pioneers: Scott Thulborn, Wayne Ruediger, Katelyn Inch
Coach: Les Carter
No Change

Brisbane Pirates: Alex Marshall, Jo Edwards, Chris Rosanes
Coach: Michael Breen
In: Marshall, Edwards, Rosanes
Out: Jeremy Henry, Kelsey Cottrell, Aaron Hewson

Gold Coast Hawks: Aron Sherriff, Kelsey Cottrell, Nathan Rice
Coach: Anthony Kiepe
Returning Franchise

Melbourne eXtreme: Carla Krizanic, Matthew Flapper, Ali Forsyth
Coach: Kelvin Kerkow
New Franchise

Melbourne Pulse: Barrie Lester, Gary Kelly, Ellen Ryan
Coach: Jeremy Henry
No Change

Murray Steamers: Ryan Bester, Natasha Van Eldik, Kevin Anderson
Coach: Ryan Burnett
In: Anderson
Out: Michael Walker

Perth Suns: Dawn Hayman, Kristina Krstic, Cody Packer
Coach: Pieter Harris
In: Krstic, Packer
Out: Trystan Smallacombe, Ray Pearse

Sydney Lions: Karen Murphy, Ben Twist, Aaron Wilson
Coach: Steve Glasson
In: Wilson
Out: Aron Sherriff

Tasmania Tridents: Rebecca Van Asch, Taelyn Male, Mark Nitz
Coach: Mark Strochnetter
New Franchise

Tweed Heads Ospreys: Aaron Teys, Corey Wedlock, Chloe Stewart
Coach: Wayne Turley
No Change