Fours Champions Crowned on Day 2 of State Championships

by Rick Fontyn on March 7, 2021

It was a huge day of action in the Tasmanian State Bowls Championships, with Day 2 serving up some tremendous matches, with all eyes on the North Launceston Bowls Club, as they played host to today’s Fours Finals in near-perfect conditions.

The Men’s Fours State Championship was first held back in 1918-19, making it the oldest of all the Bowls Tasmania State Titles.

Today’s Men’s Final saw an outstanding contest between the Michael Sims led team, who only progressed to the Final after an extra-end decider, and Tim Douce’s side from the North West Coast.

The sixth end proved pivotal where Douce picked up a huge 6-shots; never losing the lead again to run out winners by six.

In the Women’s Open Fours, it was a strong win for Dee Harman’s team, which included bowlers from four different clubs, finishing 8-shot victors over the Invermay team led by Candice Ayton.

In the B-Grade Fours it was an absolute thriller, with the Sandy Bay team led by David Lovett picking up four shots on the final end to record back-to-back titles. They turned a 2-shot deficit into a 2-shot victory, with the final score 16-14 over the Latrobe foursome led by Peter Rodgers.

Tomorrow sees action get underway in the Pairs, with matches to be held at Kings Meadows, Invermay, North Launceston and Trevallyn Bowls Clubs.

Today’s Finals Results:

Men’s Fours Final:

Tim Douce, Greg Douce, Matthew Mitchell (Latrobe) & Chris Murray (Port Sorell)                          17

def.      Michael Sims, Lachlan Sims, Phil Mundy (Trevallyn) & Chris Dudman (Burnie)                 11

Women’s Fours Final:

Dee Harman (Wynyard), Crystal Brooks (Glenorchy/Rodman), Linda Rose (Port Sorell),       

Barbara Liddington (Dover)                                                                                                                     13

def.      Candice Ayton, Kim Saunders, Debbie Lee, Jess McMullen (Invermay) 5

B-Grade Men’s Fours Final:

David Lovett, Bill Mottershead, Ian Salt, Charles Thomas                                        (Sandy Bay)    16

def.      Peter Rodgers, Damian Gallagher, Selwyn Sherriff, Robert Sims                (Latrobe)         14