2021 State Champions Headline New Squads

by admin on January 20, 2021

Newly crowned 2021 State Champions headline the new State Open Squads announced today by the Bowls Tasmania Selectors. The new squads will look towards the Victoria Test Series in July and the Australian Sides Championships in October where the final 12 men and 12 women will compete.

Tasmanian Men’s Triples Champions Mark Nitz, Robert McMullen and Will Coad lead the men’s squad, along with Mixed Pairs Champion Isaac Maughan.

Rebecca Van Asch and Jessica McMullen spearhead the Women’s squad on the back of their State Triples victory.  Van Asch and McMullen who are ranked 6th and 13th in Australia respectively are also joined by 8th ranked Alison Venn.

Tasmanian stalwart Mark Strochnetter also makes his comeback to the Tasmanian Squad after a break from representative duties.  Strochnetter has played 303 games for Tasmania and sits 3rd on the overall games played list.

A full list of Squads can be seen here;


Josh Appleyard Peter Bannister Will Coad Nathan Dinning
David Gamble Aaron Jago Anthony Johns Taelyn Male
Isaac Maughan Robert McMullen Phil Mundy Mark Nitz
Chris Roach Lachlan Sims Michael Sims Mark Strochnetter
Luke Turner Josh Walker-Davis



Candice Ayton Mikayla Baker Lauren Banks Amity Booth
Crystal Brooks Logyn Curtis Makayla Gibson Courtney Hobbs
Bronwyn King Jorja Maughan Jessica McMullen Erin Moore
Kelly Mundy Jenny Suttie Lyn Triffitt Bec Van Asch
Alison Venn