2018 Tasmanian Bowlers of the Year Announced

by admin on May 29, 2018

With the 2017/18 season firmly at a close, Bowls Tasmania are proud to announce our 2018 Tasmanian Men’s and Women’s Bowlers of the Year; Lee Schraner and Lyn Triffitt.

All Bowls Tasmania Open Championships, Singles, Pairs, Triples and Fours, along with all open regional events of the same disciplines can gain points into the Bowler of the Year standings.

The women’s race was a very tight one this year with only 5 points splitting first and second.  Our winner Lyn Triffitt had a fantastic week in January at the Gala Week, claiming the women’s singles and pairs crowns to take out maximum points in those events.  Alison Venn however had made 3 finals that week in the Singles, Pairs and Fours, but came off second best on all three occasions.  Rounding out the top 5 women’s Bowler of the Year placings was Yvonne Buckley in 3rd, Deb Lee in 4th and Candice Hodgetts in 5th.

The men’s ladder was a little clearer with Lee Schraner claiming points in 7 out of 8 events on offer, with his stand out achievements being the State Singles and Triples titles that he claimed earlier this year.  Schraner managed to more than double the points of Tim Douce in second spot, who claimed the Northern Bowler of the Year this weekend, While Josh Baker was in third and Cameron Griffiths and Luke and Ricki Richardson share equal 4th spot.