2018 Tasmanian Open Squads Announced

by admin on January 22, 2018

The Bowls Tasmania selectors met after the second round of the Open State Wide Challenge at Latrobe on Sunday to select the new men’s and women’s open squads for 2018.  The men have selected a squad of 17, while the women have stuck with 16.  From these squads the selectors will select the final 12 men and 12 women that will represent Tasmania at the Australian Sides Championships in Darwin in May 2018.
9 of the 12 men that were apart of the successful Tigers outfit that recently won the French Holbrook series have retained their positions in the squad, while Patrick Smith has withdrawn from the squad due to work commitments.  Joining the open squad is 2018 Tasmanian men’s fours champion Peter Bannister who has showed great form in recent times, along with State Pairs champion Luke Richardson and Burnie’s David Gamble.
All 12 women that headed to Victoria last month have retained their position in the squad, while Deb Lee, Jenny Tirant and  Jean Claridge remain in the squad and will be joined by former state representative Kelly Mundy-Furley who has returned to bowls after a short break from the game.
Good luck to all players.


Josh Appleyard

Brodie Baker

Peter Bannister

Chris Dudman

David Gamble

Matthew Jackson

Aaron Jago

Josh Mabb

Taelyn Male

Robert McMullen

Phil Mundy

Mark Nitz

Aaron Page

Luke Richardson

Lee Schraner

Lachlan Sims

Michael Sims





Amelia Bruggy

Jean Claridge

Dee Harman

Courtney Hobbs

Candice Hodgetts

Bronny King

Deb Lee

Kelly Mundy-Furley

Kim Saunders

Erin Sesara (VC)

Rae Simpson

Jenny Tirant

Lyn Triffitt

Bec Van Asch (C)

Alison Venn

Maureen Zoon