Tasmanian Senior Fours Champions

by admin on February 14, 2017

Today we saw the men’s and women’s Tasmanian Senior Fours Championships come to a close at the Sandy Bay Bowls Club.
The women’s was a Rosny Park versus Sandy Bay grudge match.  The Rosny rink of Gaylene Ridgeway, Di Petrie, Ailsa Milburn and Christine McGrath progressed through to the final after a 21-13 win over the Northern composite side of Sophie Fletcher, Maxine Monson, Madge Strochnetter and Sheril Watts.  While the girls from the Bay also had a good win over fellow southerners Chris Dowl, Carol Bannister, Robyn Leggett and Sonia Martyn 17-7 with one end in hand.
The afternoon’s finals was held in much different conditions to the semi finals with the winding picking up, making the conditions a little tougher for all players.  In the women’s final it was the Rosny Park team that jumped out to an early lead and managed to maintain this advantage throughout the match, winning the final 17-6 without needing to play the last end.
The men’s final was also an all southern affair.  Shane Peck, Brian Gregory, Nick Ellis and William Eather had a dominant win this morning of the Northern team Robert Walsh, David Heron, Les Watts and Wayne Hadley 16-8.  While Tony Clark, Wayne Lampton, Stuart Rees and Barry McDonald had a 17-4 victory over the composite side of Graham Rowbottom, Warren Groves, Peter Thow and Leigh Munnings.
The Clark rink hit the front early before team Peck came back 3 shots on the 6th end to take the lead, however Clark, Lampton, Rees and McDonald didn’t look back after this to run out eventual winners 18-8 without playing the final end.
If you didn’t tune into the live streaming today you can view both final on the Bowls Tasmania Facebook Page with commentary from Rebecca Van Asch and Lee Schraner.
We will be back at Sandy Bay tomorrow with the men’s and women’s senior pairs quarter, semi and grand finals from 9.30am.  The Grand Finals will also be live streamed on facebook from about 3pm with commentary from Rebecca Van Asch and Phil Hobbs.