Senior Championships – Fours Sectional Play

by admin on February 12, 2017

Day one of the Tasmanian Senior Championships has come to end with the sectional winners of the men’s and women’s fours decided at the Sandy Bay Bowls Club.
In section 1 of the men’s event it was the all southern team of Tony Clark, Tony Hack, Wayne Lampkin and Barry McDonald progressing through undefeated with a margin on 13.  They will now take on Graham Rowbottom, Warren Groves, Peter Thow and Leigh Munnings in the first semi final.  The Rowbottom rink progressed through as the next best qualifier with two wins a draw, after missing out on the section on a count back by 1 shot.
The winner of that section also with two wins and a draw was the northern rink of Robert Walsh, David Heron, Les Watts and Wayne Hadley.  They will now play the southern rink of Shane Peck, Nick Ellis, William Eather and teammate in the second semi-final.  The Peck rink progressed through undefeated with a margin of 16.
The southern composite rink of Chris Dowl, Carol Bannister, Robyn Leggett and Sonia Martyn were the first team to progress in the women’s event winning their two games after the morning bye.  Sandy Bay are assured a representative in the fours final with Dowl and Leggett from the host club now set to take on the all Sandy Bay line up of Carmel Rainbird, Laura Best, Di Peck and Gail Price.
The second semi final will be a battle between north and south when Rosny Park’s Gaylene Ridgeway, Di Petrie, Ailsa Milburn and Christine McGrath take on Sophie Fletcher, Maxine Monson, Madge Strochnetter and Sheril Watts after both teams went through the day without dropping a game.
The semi final and grand final of the men’s and women’s fours will continue Wednesday at the Sandy Bay Bowls Club from 9.30am.
Tomorrow will see the men’s and women’s pairs sectional play with the women at Sandy Bay and the men at Buckingham Bowls Club.
The grand finals of the fours and pairs will be livestreamed on the Bowls Tasmania Facebook page.