Open Squads Announced.

by admin on January 9, 2017

At the conclusion of every State Championships the Bowls Tasmania Selectors announce a new reduced Tasmanian Open Squad of 16 men and 16 women.  From this reduced squad the selectors will narrow it down to the final 12 men and 12 women that will represent Tasmania at the Australian Sides Championships in Adelaide in April this year.  The final selection of this team will be announced on Tuesday 14th February after the final round of the Veolia State Wide Challenge.
Both squads announced today include the 24 players selected in the Tasmanian Team to take on Canberra later this month.  In the women’s squad Jackie Knight and Jean Claridge have retained their positions after playing in the team that took on Victoria in December.  They will be joined by Mikayla Fuller who has been in the squad over the past couple of season, and Vicki Winley has been elevated to the open squad from the previous development squad after a strong performance at the State Championships where she was runner up in the women’s singles.
In the men’s squad Brodie Baker and Taelyn Male have retained their positions in the squad after being selected there in April 2016.  Matthew Jackson has been elevated to the men’s open squad from the development squad that was selected in April, while Josh Mabb has also been named after consistent performances over the past season.

New squads for season 2017/18 will be selected in May.
The complete squads are as follows;

Brodie Baker

Chris Dudman

Bradley Gibson

Matthew Jackson

Anthony Johns

Josh Mabb

Taelyn Male

Robert McMullen

Mark Nitz

Aaron Page

Lee Schraner

Michael Sims

Lachlan Sims

Patrick Smith

Scott Summers

Andrew Whitmore


Jean Claridge

Mikayla Fuller

Dee Harman

Courtney Hobbs

Hollie Keen

Jackie Knight

Deb Lee

Bree Mabb

Kim Saunders

Erin Sesara

Rae Simpson

Lyn Triffitt

Rebecca Van Asch

Alison Venn

Vicki Winley

Maureen Zoon