Pairs Sectional Play Complete.

by admin on January 2, 2017

Day 2 of the Bowls Tasmania State Championships sees the
conclusion of the men’s and women’s pairs sectional play with the women now
down to the quarter finals while the men are now down to the final 16 which
will be played on Friday at Devonport Bowls Club.
The final 8 women’s team proves a star studded line up of
past and present State and Regional representatives.  The first quarter final will pit four current
state players against each other when Wynyard’s Dee Harman and Penguin’s Alison
Venn take on Latrobe’s Erin Sesara and Invermay’s Rebecca Van Asch, with both
teams progressing through on shots up.
Defending champion Hollie Keen from Sheffield with new
partner Courtney Hobbs progressed through their section in outstanding fashion
undefeated with 44 shots up.  They will
now take on Sonia Martyn and Deb Lee who were equally as impressive winning all
of their games as well.  North Launceston’s
Connie Rowbottom and Marlene Bushby made their way through section 7 to make it
an all North affair when they play Trevallyn’s Gail Linger and Jean Claridge.
The sister combination of Perri and Yvonne Buckley from
Sandy Bay will take on former winners Kim Saunders and Gaylene Elsworthy to
round out the women’s quarter finals draw.
Defending champions Lee Schraner and Cameron Tegg showed
they are still in top form this year by dominating their section with three
wins and a margin of 52 shots.  They will
have to continue that form for further success when they take on local pair
Luke Richardson (South Burnie) and Brad Gibson (Penguin) after they managed to
escape their section on a countback by 3 shots.
Northern bowlers Daniel Baker and Michael Sims won all of
their games to win their section and will now take on southern duo Peter
Bannister and Steve Graf who managed to qualify as the first Next Best qualifier
with two wins and 32 shots in hand. 
While Josh Mabb and Chris Roach will now play Matthew Mitchell and
East Launceston will have a team through to the quarter
finals with two of their teams set to meet in the next round.  Robert McMullen and Scott Summers will take
on Adam Gurr and Damien Lewis.  Latrobe’s
Greg Douce and Rodney Horton were very impressive today at East Devonport when
they won their three games with a margin of 46 shots, with their next opponents
set to be Next Best Qualifiers 3 Taelyn Male and Jake Wyllie. 
Burnie’s Mark Nitz and David Gamble are set to play North
Launceston’s Andrew Whitmore and Brodie Baker. 
Former Tasmanian Bowler of the Year David Minns has teamed with junior
Isaac Maughan this year and will now play against local Penguin player Ricky
Richardson and Jarryd Brown.  Lachie Sims
and Matthew Jackson will round out the knockout competition when they play Next
Best Qualifiers Kevin Rowlings and Josh Walker-Davis, who were also fortunate
to make through in the fours in similar fashion.

Singles play will commence tomorrow at Devonport, East
Devonport, Latrobe and Spreyton from 9am.

Women’s Pairs Knockout

Men’s Pairs Knockout