Tasmanian Open Team

by admin on February 15, 2016

Bowls Tasmania have today announced the Tasmanian Open Team to compete at the Australian Sides Championships at the Queanbeyan Bowls Club and Queanbeyan RSL Club in the ACT from March 31st to April.
The women’s team sees an almost unchanged line up from the test series against Victoria, with debutant Jackie Knight making her debut in the team, while Carol Bannister makes a comeback to the team after a few years out.  They see themselves in the rink of Lyn Triffitt who retains her skips position and will have the teams most experienced lead Maureen Zoon.
The team boasts a wealth of experience with World Champion skipper Bec Van Asch now taking on young gun Hollie Keen as her third after playing second in the same rink last year.  She will be supported by Debbie Lee and Tasmanian singles champion Alison Venn who will compete at her first National Championships.
Courtney Hobbs sees herself picking up where she left off back in the skips position that she made her own before her short break from the game.  Kim Saunders will be playing third in that rink after a short stint skipping, and will have the experienced coastal skipper Erin Sesara as second.  Up front Dee Harman will lead them off in her first National Championships after debuting at the French Holbrook series in December.
The men’s team sees an extremely strong rink of former Australian player Lee Schraner backed up by Robert McMullen as his third after skipping for the past couple of years.  They will be lead off by French Holbrook player of the series Scott Summers and Luke Richardson who returns for Tasmania after a few years in Western Australia.
Inform skipper Mark Nitz will team up with club mate and debutant Patrick Smith as his third, with last years player of the series Darren Monks remaining in his seconds position.  Anthony Johns also retains his position after his debut series in the French Holbrook Series.
NTC squad member Michael Sims will take the reins as skip for the first time with Aaron Page moving over as his third, while fellow NTC squad member Brad Gibson will start them off in the leads position followed by Simon Zaporozec.
The full team is as follows;





Alison Venn

Deb Lee

Hollie Keen

Bec Van Asch

Dee Harman

Erin Sesara

Kim Saunders

Courtney Hobbs

Maureen Zoon

Jackie Knight

Carol Bannister

Lyn Triffitt






Scott Summers

Luke Richardson

Robert McMullen

Lee Schraner

Bradley Gibson

Simon Zaporozec

Aaron Page

Michael Sims

Anthony Johns

Darren Monks

Patrick Smith

Mark Nitz