2015 Tasmanian Bowlers of the Year

by admin on May 9, 2015

Congratulations to our 2015 Tasmanian Bowlers of the Year…
Tonight saw our 2015 Tasmanian Bowlers of the Year crowned at the Bowls Tasmania Gala Dinner at the Country Club Casino.  The Women’s Titled was awarded to back-to-back champion Rebecca Van Asch, while the men’s award was split between David Minns and Lee Schraner.
Van Asch has had a stellar 2015, claiming all three Tasmanian Titles, singles, pairs & fours at the gala week of bowls in January.  To go along with her three State Titles she was also a member of the winning Northern Fours Championship team.  This is the third Bowler of the year title for Van Asch to go along with her 2005 and 2014 titles as well.
David Minns also claims his third bowler of the year title, being a recipient in 2004 and 2005 also.  This is the second time in its history that the men’s Bowler of the Year Titles have been tied, and coincidently that time also involved Minns when he shared the award with Anthony Burne in 2004.  Minns won the Tasmanian Singles and Triples titles this year as well as a Bowls North Fours Title and a semi and quarter final finish in the other 2 disciplines.
Lee Schraner has also had a fantastic 2015, dominating the Bowls Tasmania South Men’s Championships, claiming all four of the Titles on offer, along with semi final finishes in the Tasmanian Pairs, Triples and Fours.
Congratulations to our 3 Tasmanian Bowlers of the Year.